Awards handed out at the Phidian Art Show

April 27, 2024

THE EXHIBITION RUNS Friday, April 5th until Friday, April 26th
During the artists’ reception on Friday, April 5th, guest judge presented the awards for the 75th Phidian Art Show.

This exhibition is put on by the Phidian Art Club of Dixon, IL.

75th Phidian Art Show – Award Recipients

Mary DeFrancisco Award Honorable Mentions |

“Adoration”, Watercolor – Bill Moritz

“Self-Portrait”, Ink on paper – Michelle Berard

“Meteor I Saw in 1997”, Acrylic – Sarah Matthew

The Next Picture Show Award | “Trio”, Oil – Bonny Brown

Ronald Reagan Presidential Award (Best Regional Scene) | “White Pines Walking Bridge”, Acrylic – Lucinda Winterfield

Caryl Crawford Fleming Award (Best Nature Subject) | “Midnight Dance”, Oil – Sheila Ames

Marie L. Helin Memorial Award (Creativity) | “Still Life, not so Still. She’s Thirsty”, Oil – Kitto

Mary Helen “Mame” Cooper Memorial Award | “River Marsh”, Acrylic – Perry Paliga

Myra Nichols Memorial Award | “Early Riser, Late Fall”, Watercolor – Dick Cholke

Lucille Warner Memorial Award | “Meadow”, Mixed Media – Ben Perez

Roxy Hey Memorial Award (Best Floral Art) | “Dahlias at the Market”, Oil – Karen Tucker

Beverly Weber Memorial Award | “Obie’s Favorite Place”, Acrylic – Julie Young

LeSage Memorial Award (Best Realistic Style) | “King”, Charcoal and graphite – Kimberly Gerry

The Dixon Telegraph Award | “Ebbs & Flows”, Acrylic – Joy Meyer

Jane Marshall Memorial Award | “Girl in Striped Shirt”, Acrylic – Kelly Broitman

Mary Ann Ferolo Memorial Award | “Jane Magnolia”, Oil – Laurie Friemuth

Sauk Valley Bank Award (Best Oil) | “None Left”, Oil – Elizabeth Jahn

KSB Hospital Award | “Sunflower Pair Diptych”, Watercolor – Carla Hill

Ann Roe Memorial Award | “Bringing Life into Focus”, Mixed Media – Laura Brown

Ken Nelson Auto Group Award | “At the Beach”, Watercolor – Betty Predmore

Robert Crowson Memorial Award | “At My Wits End”, Soft Pastel – Mary Howe

Roger Brown and Iva L. Gamel Memorial Award (Best American Scene) | “Out on the Route”, Watercolor – Craig Carpenter

Phidian Past Presidents’ Award (Agnes Ferguson Memorial) | “Sanctuary”, Oil – Stuart Roddy

Myrtle Walgreen Best of Show Award | “Oklahoma 1938”, White colored pencil on black paper – Matt Jagitsch

Our Sponsors

Illinois Arts Council Agency
NEA logo
Sauk Valley Bank Logo
United Way of Lee County Illinois

Support Our Mission in the Arts

Donate Now