Awards announced for 2023 Phidian Art Show

April 4, 2023
wall of art for the 2023 Phidian Art Show

Awards night canceled due to weather

For three years in a row, the in-person awards presentations had to be canceled. The first two years, it was COVID. This year, Mother Nature decided to send miserable, stormy spring weather.

Never fear. The judging went on anyway. Mary Jo Schuneman, a long-time local art educator, was this year’s judge. Just below is a listing of our award recipients. Congratulations to all of our talented local artists.

People’s Choice

The only award not shown at the time of this writing is the 2023 People’s Choice winner. Visitors are encouraged to visit The Next Picture before April 14 to cast a ballot for their favorite piece. The show remains on the gallery’s walls until April 22. Come in and vote!

UPDATE: People’s Choice is the same as our Best of Show, Matt Jagitsch.

“Don’t Breathe” by Matt Jagitsch, best of show for the 2023 Phidian Art Show
Best of Show AND People’s Choice | “Don’t Breathe” by Matt Jagitsch

…and the winners are

Myrtle Walgreen Best of Show Award
“Don’t Breathe” by Matt Jagitsch

Phidian Past President’s Award
“T. To J.P.” by Kitto

Roger Brown and Iva L. Gamel Memorial Award for Best American Scene
“Let’s Dry the Corn” by Julie Young

Robert Crowson Memorial Award
“Tramp Olay” by Elizabeth Jahn

Lesage Memorial Award for Realistic Style
“White Hollyhocks” by Karen Tucker

Ann Roe Memorial Award for Best Pencil or Pen & Ink
“Scarred Orange and Blue Bottle” by Elizabeth Coss

Jane Marshall Award
“Storyville” by Dan Bowman

Beverly Weber Memorial Award
“Old Truck” by Jerry Scheffler

Roxy Hey Memorial Award for Best Floral
“White Dahlia #2” by Karen Tucker

Ruth Wood Davis Memorial Award Watercolor 
“Yellow Hi-Flyer” by Craig Carpenter

Lucile Warner Award
“Great Uncle Paul” by Jerry Scheffler

Myra Nichols Memorial Award
“Slide” by Elizabeth Jahn

Marie L. Helin Memorial Creativity Award
“Shay’s Cat, Pan” by Amy Bailey

Mary Helen “Mame” Cooper Award
“Two on Two After School at Hefty’s” by Craig Carpenter

The Telegraph Award 
“UNITY Carpeted in Colors of Pink and Gray” by  Shirley Guay

KSB Hospital Award
“Lavender Abstract” by Jayne Rose

Caryl Crawford Fleming Memorial Award for Best Nature Subject
“Whisper” by Dale Tulk

Ronald Reagan Presidential Award for Best Regional Scene
“Iowa Sunset” by Perry Paliga

Mary Ann Ferolo Award
“What a Wonderful World” by Betty Predmore

The Next Picture Show Award
“No Show” by James Hey


“T. To J.P.” by Kitto

“Our Hero: Uncle Ray” by  A. Elizabeth Anderson-Hall

“Symbolism of Peonies” by Laura Brown

Our Sponsors

NEA logo
Sauk Valley Bank Logo
United Way of Lee County Illinois
Illinois Arts Council Agency
Dixon Chamber Logo
Ksb Logo

Support Our Mission in the Arts

Donate Now