2022 Phidian Art Show awards announced

April 3, 2022

71 pieces of original art on display

Guest judge, Sydni Reubin, spent an afternoon walking the gallery and looking over 71 pieces of original art as she judged the 73rd Phidian Art Show. The Phidian Art Show gives out over $3,500 in cash awards given by many local businesses and individuals.

Top prize
Best of Show, the Myrtle Walgreen Memorial Award, has been awarded to Matt Jagitsch of Sterling, Illinois for his artwork, “Leonardo.”

Be sure to vote for your favorite piece

The show is open to the public through Apr. 22 at The Next Picture Show art gallery at 113 W. First St., in Dixon. While visiting the show, patrons have the opportunity to choose the Agnes Ferguson Memorial “People’s Choice Award” by voting for their favorite entry during the gallery’s business hours Tuesday-Saturday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Voting for this final award ends on Apr. 14.

…and the winners are

Myrtle Walgreen Memorial Award BEST OF SHOW
Matt Jagitsch “Leonardo”

Roger Brown & Iva L. Gamel Memorial Award BEST AMERICAN SCENE
Jim Hey “Grand Detour Fireworks”

Robert Crowson Memorial Award
Shirley Guay “Body and Soul”

Phidian Past Presidents’ Award (chosen by a small group of past presidents)
Becky Hage “Here and Now”

Myra Nichols Memorial Award
Ben “Bengji” Perez “Untitled”  

Lucile Warner Memorial Award 
Betty Higby “Sound of Silence”

LeSage Memorial Award REALISTIC STYLE
Jim Hey “Evening Stroll in Venice”

Sauk Valley Bank Award BEST OIL
Perry Paliga “Des Plaines River Valley”

Ann Roe Memorial Award Pen, Pencil, and Ink
Dan Bowman “Hungry Packer Lake”

Beverly Weber Memorial Award 
Elizabeth Jahn “Ribbons”

Caryl Crawford Fleming Memorial Award BEST NATURE SUBJECT
Betty Predmore “Iris Dance”

Ruth Wood Davis Memorial Award WATERCOLOR
Craig Carpenter “Flipping Seasons at Wade’s Field”

Roxy Hey Memorial Award BEST FLORAL ART 
Karen Tucker “Red Dahlia”

Mary Helen “Mame” Cooper Memorial Award
Jan Harvey “Along the Creek”

Dixon Telegraph Award
Philip Atilano “Charles”

KSB Hospital Award
Kitto “Sofia”

Marie L Helin Memorial Award CREATIVITY
London Baker “Vision” 

Ronald Reagan Presidental Award BEST REGIONAL SCENE
Dale Tulk “Put Me in Coach!”

The Next Picture Show Award
Laura Brown “Cormorant Lunge”

Mary DeFrancisco Memorial Award Honorable Mention 
Joy Meyer “Tertiary”

Mary DeFrancisco Memorial Award Honorable Mention 
Michael Moreth “Untitled”

Mary DeFrancisco Memorial Award Honorable Mention 
Bonny Brown “Sunflower Tea”

Our Sponsors

Illinois Arts Council Agency
Sauk Valley Bank Logo
Ksb Logo
Dixon Chamber Logo
NEA logo
United Way of Lee County Illinois

Support Our Mission in the Arts

Donate Now